By: Renee Grant

This fall, some of the entertainment industries biggest names will honor one of their own when David Letterman receives the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor on October 22nd (2017).

Eddie Vedder, Bill Murray, Steve Martin, Jimmy Kimmel, Martin Short, and Paul Shaffer will be among the stars that will pay tribute to the former Late Show host and comedian.

The ceremony takes place at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C., and will be broadcast on PBS on November 20th.

Vedder joins those honoring Letterman on the heels of his being a last-minute substitute to induct Pearl Jam into the Rock Hall in April due to Neil Young‘s canceling due to illness.

“Pearl Jam were something more than a band,” Letterman mused in his induction speech. “They’re true living cultural organisms. They would recognize injustice and they would stand up for it. Whether it was human rights or the environment. Whether it was poverty. They didn’t let it wash over them. They would stand up and react.”

Previous comedians bestowed the prestigious honor include George Carlin, Richard Pryor, Eddie Murphy, Will Ferrell, Steve Martin, and of course, Bill Murray.

Tickets to this year’s ceremony are available beginning August 9th at the Kennedy Center’s website.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From 98.1 WOGL

Paul Simon's Homeward Bound Farewell Tour is Coming!Six decades of touring for Paul Simon are drawing to a close, but we get one last chance to say farewell!
Marilyn Russell Interviews 90210's Jason Priestley!Jason Priestley talks Eagles, Hall & Oates, and his new show, "Private Eyes".

Listen Live