By: Renee Grant

Brooklyn-based record label Royal Potato Family has announced a CD and vinyl release of their January tribute concert to Leonard Cohen.

The concert took place at New York City’s Bowery Ballroom and included artists such as Lee Ranaldo of Sonic Youth, Josh Ritter, Ian O’Neill of Deer Tick, Cassandra Jenkins, Delicate Steve, and Will Sheff of Okkervil River.

The first song of the 16-track album, titled Sincerely, L. Cohen: A Live Celebration of Leonard Cohen,  is a cover of Cohen’s transcendent Hallelujah, courtesy of Delicate Steve. You can listen to that track by clicking here.

Proceeds from the album will be donated to Preemptive Love Coalition, a charity that helps people in war-torn areas of the Middle East.

See the full track list below. The album releases digitally on September 21st, and on limited-edition vinyl on November 24th.

Sincerely, L. Cohen: A Live Celebration of Leonard Cohen Track List:
01 Delicate Steve: “Hallelujah”
02 Leslie Mendelson: “Sisters of Mercy”
03 Osei Essed: “Diamonds in the Mine”
04 Holly Miranda / Joan as Police Woman & Invisible Familiars: “I’m Your Man”
05 Josh Ritter: “Chelsea Hotel #2”
06 Amy Helm: “Hey, That’s No Way to Say Goodbye”
07 Elvis Perkins: “Is This What You Wanted”
08 Richard Thompson: “Bird on the Wire”
09 Richard Thompson: “Story of Isaac”
10 Lenny Kaye: “Beautiful Losers”
11 Ian O’Neil: “Memories”
12 Cassandra Jenkins: “In My Secret Life”
13 Teddy Thompson: “Ballad of the Absent Mare”
14 Alana Amram: “Suzanne”
15 Lee Ranaldo: “Famous Blue Raincoat”
16 Will Sheff & Friends: “So Long, Marianne”


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From 98.1 WOGL

Paul Simon's Homeward Bound Farewell Tour is Coming!Six decades of touring for Paul Simon are drawing to a close, but we get one last chance to say farewell!
Marilyn Russell Interviews 90210's Jason Priestley!Jason Priestley talks Eagles, Hall & Oates, and his new show, "Private Eyes".

Listen Live