Listen to new Hendrix material from the archive.

By Hayden Wright

Jimi Hendrix’ career was brief but from 1967 to 1970, his prowess on the guitar laid the groundwork for countless followers, imitators and future rock icons. On the posthumous release Both Sides of the Sky, which arrives March 9, fans can hear previously unreleased material including a recording of “Lover Man.”

Related: New Jimi Hendrix Album Features 10 Previously Unreleased Recordings

The song was recorded in 1969 with Billy Cox and Buddy Miles, who joined Hendrix in his Band of Gypsies.

The album is the third part in a trilogy of posthumous releases that began in 2010 with Valleys of Neptune and 2013 with People, Hell and Angels. Producer Eddie Kramer says the latest collection features Hendrix’ lifelong inspiration from the blues.

 Listen to the unearthed version of “Lover Man” here:

The new album features guest appearances from Stephen Stills, Johnny Winter and Lonnie Youngblood.  Check out the full tracklist below.

1. Mannish Boy*
2. Lover Man*
3. Hear My Train A Comin’*
4. Stepping Stone*
5. $20 Fine*+
6. Power Of Soul^
7. Jungle*
8. Things I Used to Do#
9. Georgia Blues++
10. Sweet Angel*
11. Woodstock*+
12. Send My Love To Linda*
13. Cherokee Mist*

*Previously unreleased
^ Previously unavailable extended version
+Featuring Stephen Stills
#Featuring Johnny Winter
++Featuring Lonnie Youngblood

More From 98.1 WOGL

Free Money Fun! Tune in Monday for Your Shot at 1K Every Hour!Keep an ear out for the keyword and be ready to text your way to $1,000 every hour!
The Revolution To Play SugarHouse Casino this Friday: An Interview with BrownmarkBrownmark, the bassist hand-picked by Prince, discusses how The Revolution is keeping the music alive.

Listen Live